My Quest for LANE #1

We all set “stretch” goals for ourselves, or, I should say, we all should set “stretch” goals for ourselves.  My stretch goal for the next few months is to commit to becoming the best swimmer I am capable of being.  I have been dabbling in and out of the pool for the past 3 years.  Yes, I have been committed to becoming a better swimmer, but I have not been committed to doing the things that are actually going to get me to be the best I can possibly be.  Swimming is only part of the equation.  I must be committed to improving my flexibility, my swim specific strength, my technique, and my overall swim fitness.  Instead of getting to the pool, swimming,and getting out, there are a few aspects I must commit to.  I must commit to doing a proper “dryland” warm-up consisting of stretching and foam rolling.  I must commit to getting to the gym daily to improve the strength in those little muscle that help me float and cut through the water more efficiently.  I must commit to staying as long as needed to work on the drills that are going to benefit me as a swimmer.  Too many athletes just want to get in, knock out a few thousand yards, and get out.  I like the saying, “If you are going to do the crime, you must be willing to do the time.” Swimming well, will be my crime.  I have to put in the time.  The reason I share this with you is because  you are now responsible for keeping me accountable.  When I don’t want to wake up at 5 a.m. to get my pre-swim stretching in, I will think about you, my supporters, and this will invigorate me to do what I need to do.  I plan to keep you up to date on my progress and let you know if what I am doing is working or not.  Here is a list of the stretches I plan on practicing daily:

Foam Roll:

  • TFL
  • Adductors
  • Calves
  • Piriformis
  • Lats
  • Hip Flexors
Stretch/Strengthen:
  • Thoracis Spine
  • Shoulders
  • Hips
  • Psoas
  • Adductors
  • Lats
  • Glutes
For info on how I stretch/strengthen/foam roll each muscle group stay tuned for video or e-mail me at jim@jimlubinski.com.  RACE HARD!
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

