RACE WEEK!

Well, another race is upon us and this is a BIG one.  I have been gearing up for it for some time.  I have dedicated the last few months to building up for this race.  It is the Medtronic Twin Cities Marathon.  You may say, “WAIT A MINUTE! I though Jim was a triathlete.  Why is he gearing up for a marathon?”

You see, I have always been a strong runner and this season has been no exception.  I have consistently PR’d, race after race so I said to myself, “What could happen if I really focused on my run training?”  I had been evenly splitting my training between biking. swimming, and running and making HUGE gains on the run.  I went from a half marathon PR of 1:17 to a PR of 1:10 on around 20-30 miles running a week.  So in June, I decided to up my running mileage (while still training on the bike and the swim).  Since June I have averaged 80-100 miles a week running, 20,000 + meters in the pool per week, and 9-10 hours a week on the bike.  My running has been focused and geared towards qualifying for the Marathon Olympic Trials which take place in January in Houston, TX.  The trials will consist of the best runners in the United States and I will be the first male professional triathlete to qualify for the marathon trials.

Joanna and I looked at the marathon schedule and decided Twin Cities would be my first attempt to qualify.  October 2nd would give me 4 months of solid run focused training, but I would have to dedicate myself to my goal.  Through July I moved to Mammoth Lakes, CA to live and train with the Mammoth Track Club.  In August I ran a test race at the Rock and Roll Chicago Half Marathon.  My official time was 1:11, but the course was 7/10’s long which equates to around 3  minutes so I am calling it a 1:08, but more importantly I held a 5:11/mile pace.  In order to qualify for the trials I will need to hold a 5:19/mile pace at the Twin Cities Marathon which would lead to a sub-2:19 marathon.  The Olympic Trials Marathon Standard is 2:18:59 or less.  Granted Chicago R and R was only 13 miles, but it was a confidence builder.  Post Chicago I went to Boulder, Colorado to live and train at altitude with my coach Joanna Zeiger.  Since being in Boulder I have seen a world of difference.  I am dedicated to my training and treating my body right with consistent Pilates Class, Massages, ART, stretching, and proper nutrition.

So the count down is on.  I have dedicated myself to this goal and I am determined to achieve it.  On race day I have to put my head down, dig deep, rely on my fitness and training, keep a smile on my face, and remember all of those who have contributed to my good fortune.  Thanks for the support.  You can track me at the Twin Cities Marathon Home Page.  RACE HARD! (I will)

I can’t thank everyone, but the support/help I have received prove to me I am surrounded by the best people on Earth including:

Cortney(Your the BEST!), Mom and Dad, Joanna and Mark(and Deisel), Josh Cox, Erik Vervloet(K-Swiss), Lloyd Taylor(Triathlon Lab), Snow Creek Resorts(Mammoth Lakes, CA), Mike Mckeeman, Tim Tollefson, Deena Kastor, Meb Keflezighi, Rita Klabacha, Jorge Torres, Ivette Ramos, Brandon Del Campo, Dave Scott, Powerbar, Gyst Concepts, SportMulti, LA Tri Club, my supportive team at Lube’s Multisport, AJ Johnson, Nancy Reno, Ryan Capretta(ProactiveSP), and anyone I missed you know I appreciate everything and everyone!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

