Dara Torres and Saving Private Ryan

I just started reading the Dara Torres book, “Age Is Just a Number”, and if you haven’t read it I highly suggest it.  It’s an easy read, but contains a ton of inspiration to succeed.  There was one paragraph that described my approach to training/racing/life to the “T.”  She says:

“I knew I could swim faster than I had in the 1988 Olympic Games.  Besides, once a big idea like that takes hold of me, I tend to act on it quickly and not look back.  I don’t think about the negatives or entertain doubts.  I just move forward.  I focus single-mindedly on my success.  I suppose it’s blindly optimistic, but it’s also effective.  I believe in hard work, and my ability to do it.”

I have been looking for a way to express my outlook on life/athletics for a long time and this paragraph sums it up.  Whether it be ice hockey, triathlon, running, career, Lube’s Multisport Coaching (PLUG!), etc. I move forward and act without thinking about negatives or doubts.  Sure they enter my mind occasionally, but I quickly push them aside.  For example, last night, I woke up at 11:30p.m. and started to doubt my decisions.  I quickly turned off those doubts and started to focus on my success.  Sure, my recent decisions are leaps of faith, but I believe in hard work.  I believe in my drive to succeed and win.  I believe in my optimism.  Too many people live life in fear of what MIGHT go wrong.  I want to live my life in anticipation of what is going to go right.

I came to Mammoth prepared to work hard and I can honestly say, I have never worked this hard in my life.  I eat, train, sleep, eat, train, sleep.  Sounds like an easy life, but it is taxing.  It is my passion and I want to let you know I am not complaining by any means, I love it, but it is work.  We train hard.  Josh (Cox)

The view from my run today

has a saying it is not about one workout, but it is about consistent workouts day after day, week after week, year after year, that makes a champion.  Pretty much he is saying, keep moving forward.  You may have a week of crappy workouts, but if you stick with it, that’s still a week of workouts.  Stay positive, stay optimistic, and keep moving forward.                  

I was watching “Saving Private Ryan” the other night and something along these lines struck me as well.  It is kind of grim, but I think it helps describe this point.  When the U.S. Troops were landing on Omaha Beach, they were initially getting slaughtered.  No one knew what to do.  Tom Hank’s character says, “Keep moving forward!”  Another soldier questions this and Hanks says, “Either move forward or keep getting slaughtered here on the beach!”

Tom was not content letting his men sit still and die, he had to make a move to survive.  He knew they had to move forward.  In life you may take some hits while moving forward, but in the end you will be in a better place because of it.  Just as the troops took the beach, won the battle, and eventually the war.

I know these are two drastically different examples but I think you can see my point. Be optimistic, move forward, work hard; and you have no choice but to succeed.  RACE HARD!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

