Why I gave up CAFFEINE

I drive around L.A. all day. I drive ALOT, to say the least. And while I drive, I drink coffee/soda. Probably 8-10 cups a day. But I have to do something to keep my wheels turning. I like to drink coffee. I think it is one of the most relaxing things to do on a Saturday/Sunday morning. So let’s get to the point, why in the world would I give up coffee/caffeine?
#1. A few months ago, a fellow pro triathlete Andrew Starkyowicz stayed with me. Andrew is an interesting dude, and he has been a fast ITU distance triathlete for a while now. He NEVER takes caffeine. The only time he has it is in a gel while racing. He says the effect the caffeine has on him makes the hair on his neck stand up and gives him the turbo boost he needs.
#2. Ironman World Champion Chris McCormack says he gets himself crazy addicted to caffeine(like I currently am), then a month or so before a race he gives it up and goes through all of the withdrawal symptoms, but eventually gets off of it. Then, while racing, he takes in caffeine, and it has a multiplied effect because his body is reintroduced to the stimulant. VROOOOOOOM!
I am not saying that this step is going win everything for me, but it is worth a shot. I said I was going to commit to a lifestyle this season, and I believe this is one of the steps I should take.
So, there’s your short answer. RACE HARD!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

