DEAR DIARY

Dear Diary

 9/21/10

          I started writing a daily diary this month. This is something I have wanted to do for years, but never took the time to do it. I have lived a lot of places in my life, and had a lot of different experiences. I wish I would have had a recollection of my daily thoughts, emotions, activities, and overall state of mind. You may ask, “What prompted you to start this diary now, Jim?” Since you asked, I’ll let you in on my secret.

          I was not an endurance sport athlete growing up. I never swam, I rode my GT Performer with my buddies to go pick up chicks, and the only place I ran was away from houses I had just “ding-dong-ditched.” I was an ice hockey player, and when there was no ice, I played street hockey. This was my life for 26 years before I found the endurance sport community. Needless to say, these sports (running, biking, and swimming) do not come easily to me. I need to work, and work hard, for every gain I make. I have to put in countless hours of training and endless amounts of effort to have success. I swam with 70.3 World Champion Michael Raelert a few weeks ago, and the ease with which he swims pisses me off. I work my ass off in the pool, and I am barely better than I was a year ago at this time. It isn’t an easy road.

          A few things that I do have going for me are determination and optimism. I am a determined individual. I know I can be the best, and I am determined to get there. I am also extremely optimistic. I should have written the book, “The Secret” because I had that figured out a long time ago. I have a strong belief in myself. I believe that I can achieve anything I set my mind on regardless of what that may be. Let me digress for a moment to give you an example. As I stated, I was an ice hockey player. I was not the best player, by far, but I always said to myself that I wanted to play Division 1 ice hockey and then play professional ice hockey. I kept those goals in mind while climbing the pee wee hockey ranks. I saw plenty of better players quit and fall by the wayside because of lack of determination or lack of faith that they would make it. I kept on moving forward. I would get cut by one team and go to another. I eventually earned a college scholarship and ultimately received a paycheck to do the sport I loved, as a professional. I had some skill, but my main two assets that got me there were determination and optimism.

          How does this relate to my current situation? I am far from good as a professional triathlete. I have a long way to go, but I have already seen the same trend in triathlon as I have seen in hockey. Athletes get frustrated with poor performances and long workouts and give up. There are some quality athletes giving up the sport because phenomenal results don’t come over night. Let me tell you, I know my results aren’t coming over night. It is going to be a long road, but I am determined to, and I know I will, get there. It is going to be a long journey that takes me a lot of places and gives my some unbelievable experiences. I will meet, incredible, interesting people, and see sights not many see in a life time. This is where the diary comes in.

          I want a recollection of this journey. I want to be able to look back in two, five, ten years and read exactly what I was thinking. I want to read about people I have met along the way and the places I have been. I want to create a story of the budding triathlete who struggled to succeed, but when he did, he knew how it was done, where he had been, and who had helped him get there.

          Think about the word “History,” His-Story. I want my life to be a story. You only get one crack at this life, and I want to make the most of it. I want to travel, meet a lot of people, and experience life, all while staying determined to succeed. It’s easy to get side tracked by negative people, but not many have had the life experiences I have had. Many do not believe in what is possible because they’re being “realistic.” I know that is the easy way out and small minded. If you are determined to achieve something, it is possible no matter how far fetched it seems. If someone says anything different, have them come talk to me. Sorry about that tangent. I am not racing Augusta 70.3 this weekend as I originally planned. This is a mistake. I may not have done the best but it would have been another experience. I won’t let that happen again. I’ll start posting some of my daily entries, so you can see where I am at a long the way. Nothing has ever been handed to me on a silver platter, so I am sure it will be interesting. RACE HARD!

1 Comment

  1. This is awesome Jim1. Except for the His-Story part 😉 what about Her-Story? Can’t wait to follow along through your trials, tribulations and successes!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

